Gender, names, and godparent guessing for Harry and Meghan's first child

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guess the sex of Harry and Meghan's first baby!

• Boy

Votes: 55 29.1%
  • Girl

Votes: 105 55.6%
  • Twins - Boy/Boy

Votes: 3 1.6%
  • Twins - Boy/Girl

Votes: 19 10.1%
  • Twins - Girl/Girl

Votes: 7 3.7%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
that was a long time ago, and I don't really see it reviving.

I read that it was blossom in several articles on southern African names.
Also, I read that Tswana was the language spoken in Botswana, a country with which they certainly do have a connection.
I am no expert and was relying on information that was supported in multiple sources.

Fun fact: there are 3 times more Batswana in South Africa than there are in Botswana. There are probably a few dialectical variations between the Setswana spoken in Botswana and the Setswana spoken in South Africa so Sethunya might mean flower in Botswana. However if all your sources are Western I remain skeptical.

As for their connection to Botswana, I'm sorry but enjoying a country as a holiday destination doesn't entitle you to any part of that country's culture. They weren't born in Botswana, have never lived in Botswana and aren't descended from anyone who's Tswana. I'd be willing to bet that they don't speak more than 3 words of the language. Most westerners who give their children African names can't even pronounce them properly.

True, Ps Alice of Cambridge would have been OK, but Sussex not so good. I don't think that Philip really is keen on his name being used, otherwise I would have expected William to use it as a middle name for one of his boys.. I don't know what H and Meg are going to go for.. think it is too hard to guess...

I've wondered about the same thing, Denville, about Philip's not wanting his name used.