List of Monarchs of Netherlands

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blog Real

Imperial Majesty
Jan 9, 2013
This is a list of monarchs of the Netherlands. By practical extension, the list includes the stadtholders of the House of Orange Nassau. However, they were voted into office by, and were civil servants and generals of, the semi-independent provinces of the Dutch Republic and cannot be seen as monarchs.
The Kingdom of the Netherlands has been an independent monarchy since 16th March, 1815.

Stadtholderate under the House of Orange-Nassau:
  1. Willem I Prince of Orange (1581-1584) m. 1.Anna of Egmond 2.Anna of Saxony 3.Charlotte of Bourbon 4.Louise de Coligny
  2. Maurits Prince of Orange (1585-1625)
  3. Frederick Henry Prince of Orange (1625-1647) m. Amalia of Solms-Braunfels
  4. William II Prince of Orange (1647-1650) m. Mary, Princess Royal
  5. William III of England (1672-1702) m. Mary II of England
  6. Willem IV of Orange-Nassau (1711-1751) m. Anne, Princess Royal
  7. William V, Prince Of Orange (1751-1795) m. Princess Wilhelmina of Prussia
Kingdom of Holland (1806–1810):
  1. Louis I Bonaparte (1806-1810) m. Hortense de Beauharnais
  2. Louis II Bonaparte (1810) m. Charlotte Bonaparte
Kingdom of the Netherlands:
  1. Willem I of Orange-Nassau (1815-1840) m. 1.Wilhelmina of Prussia 2.Henrietta d'Oultremont
  2. Willem II of Orange-Nassau (1840-1849) m. Anna Pavlovna of Russia
  3. William III (1849-1890) m. 1.Sophie of Württemberg 2.Emma of Waldeck and Pyrmont
  4. Wilhelmina (1890-1948) m. Henry of Mecklenburg-Schwerin
  5. Juliana (1948-1980) m. Prince Bernhard of Lippe-Biesterfeld
  6. Beatrix (1980-2013) m. Claus von Amsberg
  7. Willem-Alexander (2013-) m. Máxima Zorreguieta Cerruti

To discuss issues related to the history of the Netherlands, consult the topics in the Royal History of the Netherlands sub-forum.
Last edited:
Top Bottom