The Royal Forums

The Royal Forums (https://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/)
-   Royal Genealogy (https://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f96/)
-   -   Genealogics Website (https://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f96/genealogics-website-41800.html)

David Lewis 01-23-2017 08:30 AM

Genealogics Website
 
Does anyone know if Leo Van De Pas' excellent Genealogics website has been taken down permanently?
I use the site quite a lot and haven't been able to access it since early Saturday morning 21/01/2017.
I know unfortunately passed away in August but I was hoping the site would remain.
any knowledge gratefully received

Spheno 01-23-2017 09:17 AM

The site works. I can access it.

David Lewis 01-23-2017 01:30 PM

I usually access the site by googling Leo van de Pas and then clicking on the link to www.genealogics.org. However since Saturday I get a message on my PC saying "this page can't be displayed"
If I try accessing from my I pad i never get connected.
What am I doing wrong?

Countessmeout 01-23-2017 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Lewis (Post 1956386)
I usually access the site by googling Leo van de Pas and then clicking on the link to www.genealogics.org. However since Saturday I get a message on my PC saying "this page can't be displayed"
If I try accessing from my I pad i never get connected.
What am I doing wrong?

I clicked on your link, and I am on an iPad too, and your link works for me.

David Lewis 01-23-2017 03:24 PM

How weird. It. Still doesn't work on my PC or iPad. I'm in the uk using Windows 10 on my PC.

David Lewis 01-23-2017 03:26 PM

Can someone post a link to another page on the site so I can see whether that works for me. Thanks

Lee-Z 01-23-2017 03:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Lewis (Post 1956419)
Can someone post a link to another page on the site so I can see whether that works for me. Thanks

The Search People page on the site:
Search People: Genealogics

David Lewis 01-23-2017 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lee-Z (Post 1956420)
The Search People page on the site:
Search People: Genealogics

that doesn't work for me either on my ipad or pc.
still get the message this page cant be displayed.
anyone any ideas? Was working perfectly on Friday

cepe 01-23-2017 04:14 PM

I'm in the UK and it isn't working for me.

Lee-Z 01-23-2017 04:16 PM

Do you happen to use the same internet provider (i think you're both in the UK?) and does the provider by any chance have an issue with PHP web sites?
No wait, that can't be it, TRF is php too :lol:

Try this website tester to see if it is indeed down for you (I get an UP and reachable but i'm in the netherlands)
https://www.isitdownrightnow.com/

David Lewis 01-24-2017 03:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lee-Z (Post 1956433)
Do you happen to use the same internet provider (i think you're both in the UK?) and does the provider by any chance have an issue with PHP web sites?
No wait, that can't be it, TRF is php too :lol:

Try this website tester to see if it is indeed down for you (I get an UP and reachable but i'm in the netherlands)
Is It Down Right Now? Website Down or Not?

Tried your link and it says the website is up. I'm in the uk and use btinternet as my isp.

David Lewis 01-24-2017 05:45 AM

The plot thickens,
I tried accessing the site on my iPhone and failed when connected to my home wifi. However I then turned the wifi of and used 4g and I managed to connect.
So it seems the problem is my ISP. But seeing that things worked up till Friday I'm not sure where I go from here?

David Lewis 01-24-2017 06:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cepe (Post 1956432)
I'm in the UK and it isn't working for me.

which internet service provider are you using Cepe?

Katrianna 01-24-2017 07:07 PM

The site comes up for me. It can be the ISP in whatever country a user is from. Sometimes when I post links to Gettyimages on another Board, members from Australia can't view the website or photos at all, they get "access forbidden" and this seems to happen quite often. Sometimes anti-virus software on a PC and/or smartphone blocks certain websites.

cepe 01-24-2017 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Lewis (Post 1956567)
which internet service provider are you using Cepe?

We are on BT and we use Microsoft Edge.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020
Jelsoft Enterprises