The Duke & Duchess of Sussex and Family, News and Events 3: March - April 2021

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not an immigration expert by any means, but from my own experiences, Harry is likely in the process of a Spousal Green Card and is therefore allowed to legally stay in the U.S. during the process. (It's been a long time, but my Dad's application took over a year to process and be issued, and my friend's husband's green card took closer to two years.)

He is legally married to a U.S. Citizen, so all he had to do was fill out the applications and appear for the interview when it is scheduled. Once he and Meghan turned in the application, Harry's initial 90-day visitor visa would have been extended under an adjustment of status.

(Harry could have technically gotten a 2-year special visa, but would have still had to exit and enter the U.S. every 90 days, I think. That may have been the initial plan, but between Covid-19 and buying a mansion, I'm pretty sure they likely started the process for a Spousal Green Card, or he applied for the "Einstein Visa" but that seems unnecessary, given his qualification via his wife.)

I'm more curious as to whether Harry applied for a work permit (which can take several months to arrive), or how the Netflix & Spotify deals were done without it. Of course, Meghan & Harry likely created a string of Corporations or LLCs for these business deals, but my understanding is that Harry could not work for any of these entities without a valid work visa. Again, not an expert, so maybe these things are ridiculously easy if you're rich enough to hire good immigration and tax lawyers

Just read where Gayle King said that H & M had an agreement with CBS and ITV that the interview would have been postponed if Prince Phillip died.