Birth of Archie Harrison Mountbatten-Windsor: May 6, 2019

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Its puzzling to me that folks somehow are lambasting Harry and Meghan for deciding to turn down a courtesy title (for now! the lad could always take it up himself should he want or it could change when Charles becomes king) and complaining that Harry and Meghan want it both ways.

Is this not exactly what the Princess Royal and the Wessexes have done? Yes, they are public individuals with public roles, taking public money. But they are all raising their children as private citizens. Should they to give it all up and go off?

Who is lambasting them?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not entirely surprised by Archie, I'm a primary school teacher and there are more and more Archie's around. Personally, as few others have said, I'm not a massive fan or nicknames as given names as everybody still tends to try and find a shorter version of it, lots of our Archie's are "Arch" and that I really am not a fan off.

Interesting that they are quite noticeably not using the courtesy title available. Given Archie and any other brothers and sisters would be entitled to HRH Prince/Princess when Charles becomes King it seems very unlikely they will use such titles now IMO. I was sure they wouldn't get any titles from HM at the moment but thought they would use the Earl of Dumbarnton title instead as a sort of middle ground.

Totally unexpected name. I’m a little disappointed (not that I have any right to).
It doesn’t sound royal.

Of all the names they could have chosen, that's what they picked?

(Well, their child, their choice, but I think it's horrible.)

The strongest of my feelings are for the poor child, not because of those names, but because he has been deprived of his rightful titles at birth and so has no say as to whether to use them when older.