Opposition to Royal Marriages

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
:previous: I don't know "for sure" but the components of the tiara date back to Queen Victoria's time so I don't think that Queen would give her son carte blanche. I tend to think that the Queen had a hand in it because other jewels that have been created on QEII's watch ranged from meh to unattractive, so Sophie's tiara is not an outlier. For the record, I think that Sophie's tiara is more meh than unattractive.

KMD- thank you for this interesting new thread.

Princess Mabel was definitely given "thumbs-down"; however, Prince Johan Friso married her.

And he was dropped from succession line.

Just wondering has in modern era (let's say after 1950) any member of royal family lost his place in succession line due non-approved marriage.

I’m new to this, but finding it fascinating. What was the problem with Princess Mabel?

As I recall, Princess Elizabeth’s parents did not totally approve of her choice! But the marriage took place and has managed to endure for 70 years and counting.

1 Interestingly, the requirement for Benedikte's children was to grow up in Denmark to remain in line to the throne while at the same time it was expected from her to marry a foreigner (preferably royal or noble).

2 Currently there are quite a few questionable people married into the royal families of Europe. Although I personally would prefer people to only be 'judged' on their own merits and not on their families. What makes you think that this leniency is going away?

(I've allowed myself to add numbers to your quote.)

1) I can't say what was required back then. But Benedikte's children are not listed as being in the Line of Succession. I think it was very much on Benedikte's insistence they maintained a close affiliation with DK. After all QMII and PH very quickly produced an heir and a spare.

2) Very brutal: In the interest of the country. - And in the interest of the family.