Russian Imperial and Noble Jewels

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Romanov Jewellery

Hi there, I'm new to the web page and am passionately interested in the Romanov and Yusupov families.
In particular I'm interested in their collections ie furniture, jewellery etc. I was wanting to know if anyone knows what happened to the incredible collection of Yusupov jewellery that was found by the Soviets in 1925 and which there is a famous photo of them sorting through. Was it broken up and the stones sold seperately? (Hope not) or were the beautiful pieces sold as the items they were? I've never seen any of the pieces in that photograph shown anywhere since then. And also what happened to all those royal tiaras that are illustrated on this site in particular that magnificent Diamond and Pearl one that is often shown in photos of the Empress Alexandra? Sorry for so many questions at once!! I'd be so pleased if anyone could help
Cheers
Simon (From Melbourne, Australia)

Lady Jean said:
The Forbes family is auctioning off its collection of Faberge Eggs through Sotheby's in April. Here is a link:

http://search.sothebys.com/liveauctions/tfc/index.html

I'm disappointed these will now be dispersed, just like the jewels have been. At least we will have one last chance to see them during the exhibit.

I was particularly saddened when the Forbes family sold their collection of Faberge Eggs. The eggs had been on exhibit at the Forbes Building in New York City (for free!) and I was fortunate to see them a few years ago. After seeing these magnificient eggs in pictures for years, it was thrilling to see them in person. They are spectacular! BTW, the Forbes eggs were purchased by a Russian and they are now back in Russia.

See "Russian Tycoon Buys Forbes Faberge Eggs" at http://www.forbes.com/2004/02/04/cx_pm_0204fabergesale.html