Queen Ingrid (1910-2000)

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Absolutely! That was one of the things she was really praised for!

It would be slightly awkward if she had not learnt the language.

Hello!
I'm new at this, Have a question: How did Queen Ingrid helped Queen Silvia?
TNX :)

vanči;1145950 said:
Hello!
I'm new at this, Have a question: How did Queen Ingrid helped Queen Silvia?
TNX :)

What do you mean?

I read in a magazine that the Queen Ingrid helped Queen Silvia.
Probably referring to the advise of Queen Ingrid to Queen Silvia when she married King Carl Gustaf.
I have confusion in my mind, and tries arrange, because I do not believe in Croatian journals when it comes to royals.

Sorry because my English :)

Granted that I don't know the answer to your question, I can guess that it's rather likely that someone had helped the German commoner hostess Silvia Sommerlath to fit in with the Swedish Royal Court and her role as Queen of Sweden; and it is possible that aunt Ingrid (born Princess of Sweden and herself a Queen) helped her by becoming her mentor.

Granted that I don't know the answer to your question, I can guess that it's rather likely that someone had helped the German commoner hostess Silvia Sommerlath to fit in with the Swedish Royal Court and her role as Queen of Sweden; and it is possible that aunt Ingrid (born Princess of Sweden and herself a Queen) helped her by becoming her mentor.

I'd say that was a well educated guess MAfan. :flowers:

Your guess is correct, MAfan. :flowers: I've read in a couple places that Queen Ingrid was always very willing to give Silvia advice and other assistance when she first became Queen, since there were no high-ranking Swedish female royals to serve as a role model.

Of course, Carl Gustaf had four older sisters, who were all born princesses. But three of them had lost their royal status through "marrying down", so maybe they didn't count?