The Wit and Humour of Prince Philip

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
He has supposedly also called her a "silly sausage".

WIth some of the things he says you simply can't say if it's rude or funny. "You silly sausage" can be a term of endearment as well as quite rude, depending on the way it is said.

Smilla said:
WIth some of the things he says you simply can't say if it's rude or funny. "You silly sausage" can be a term of endearment as well as quite rude, depending on the way it is said.

indeed. there are lots of nicknames that are like that. though...i dont know i have a hard time seeing philip say "you silly sausage" in a sweet loving way.:p

Getting away from rude and back to witty.

At one time in the 1950's, Prince Philip was visiting a textile plant or something on that order. When the phrase "man-made fibers" came up, he reached up and passed his hand over the top of his thinning hair and said, "I'm not too good at man-made fibers myself."

At a reception (in Australia, I believe), a couple was introduced to Prince Philip as "Mr. and DOCTOR Robinson". HRH sort of raised his eyebrows inquiringly, and the husband explained, "My wife is a doctor and much more important than I am". The Prince replied, "Ah. yes. We have that problem in my family too."

"Where did you get that hat?"
To the queen, in 1953, shortly after her coronation

"You are a woman, aren't you?"
To a native Kenyan woman from whom he'd received a small gift.

selrahc4 said:
At a reception (in Australia, I believe), a couple was introduced to Prince Philip as "Mr. and DOCTOR Robinson". HRH sort of raised his eyebrows inquiringly, and the husband explained, "My wife is a doctor and much more important than I am". The Prince replied, "Ah. yes. We have that problem in my family too."

oh that is adorable! what a funny and appropriate thing to say.