Dutch Royals Attend The Four Freedom Awards 2018

  May 16, 2018 at 1:08 pm by

Today, Wednesday May 16, King Willem-Alexander and Queen Maxima, along with Princess Beatrix attended the presentation of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedom Awards 2018 at the Nieuwe Kerk in Middelburg.

The laureates for this year’s Awards were: for Freedom of Speech Mr Erol Önderoǧlu from Turkey, for Freedom of Worship Bishop Paride Taban from South Sudan, for Freedom From Want the Belgian conservationist Emmanuel de Merode, and for Freedom from Fear Urmila Chaudhary from Nepal.

The International Four Freedom Awards went to Christiana Figueres Olsen “as representative of all those involved who for many years contributed to the realization of the Paris Climate Agreement in 2015”.

The Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedom Awards is an annual award presented to individuals or organizations who have demonstrated committment for the Four Freedoms which Franklin Roosevelt proclaimed in his historic speech to the US Congress on January 6, 1941: Freedom of Speech and Expression, Freedom of Worship, Freedom From Want, Freedom from Fear.

The Four Freedom Awards is an initiative of the Franklin and Elanor Roosevelt Institute and it was established in New York in 1950.

Filed under The Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Royal News to your Email

Royal News Delivered to your Email!

You can get the latest Royal News right in your inbox. Just sign up below and we will send you an email when the latest royal news is posted.

Close [X]