Preparations for the Prince of Asturias Awards 2009 Have Begun

  February 10, 2009 at 12:04 pm by

The call for the 2009 Prince of Asturias Awards is now open. The Foundation has begun distributing the pamphlet containing the official announcement for candidatures and rules for the Prince of Asturias Awards 2009.

Prince of Asturias Award winners

Click the image to see all the Award winners

There are eight awards: Communication and Humanities, Arts, Letters, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Sports, and Concord. Each of the eight recipients is awarded 50,000 euros, a sculpture by Joan Miro, a diploma, and an insignia.
The Prince of Asturias Foundation has conferred its awards since 1981. The principal intention is to acknowledge scientific, technical, cultural, social, and humanitarian work carried out by institutions, individuals, and groups of people whose achievements are exemplary at an international level.

The ceremony is traditionally held in autumn at the Campoamor theatre in Oviedo and is presided over by HRH The Prince of Asturias, accompanied by his wife The Princess of Asturias.

Google, the 2008 Prince of Asturias Awards Laureate for Communication and Humanities, has posted all the Prince of Asturias Awards laureates of the last 28 years on its search tool Google Earth. On the web page (in Spanish), users can see a video with 3D images such as a virtual re-creation of the Campoamor Theatre, several streets in Oviedo, the Hotel de la Reconquista, and the birthplaces of some of the Laureates.

Filed under Spain
Tagged , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.