Your Favourite Royal Eyes

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
My favorites are the Prince of Wales and Prince Harry

NORWAY
Mette-Marie - blue
Haakon - brown
Märtha Louise - blue
Marius - blue
Ingrid Alexandra - brown
Sverre Magnus - brown

just happened upon this old comment of mine and have to amend that Sverre Magnus has blue. Not sure what I was thinking when I typed brown?! I've also noticed that Haakon's are sometimes green/hazel even if the majority of the time they're brown.
As for my favorite(s)... would have to be Nikolai of Denmark followed by Leonor of Spain x

How could Infanta Sofía have dark brown eyes when both King and Queen both have light

I am not a genetic expert, but the genes for light colored eyes (blue, green, grey etc) are recessive: Meaning that every person with light eyes carries two genes for light eyes. And thus can only give such a gene to his/her child.

Infanta Sofía of Spain has brown eyes. How did she get the dominant gene for dark (brown, hazel) eyes?
Genes of a child come directly from each of her parents,
Since King Felipe (Blue) and Queen Letizia (green) both have recessive (light eyes) they both only have recessive eye genes to donate.

Any parent that gives a dominant gene (brown,hazel eyes) to a child must, by definition, have dark eyes him/her self.

Last edited:
Queen Letizia's eyes look like dark hazel to me. They look similar to her daughter's eyes.

:previous: I agree. Letizia has beautiful medium hazel eyes...and in some photos they appear almost green.

I am not a genetics expert, but the genes for light-colored eyes (blue, green, grey, etc) are recessive: Meaning that every person with light eyes carries two genes for light eyes. And thus can only give such a gene to his/her child.