The Royal Forums

The Royal Forums (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/)
-   Forum Announcements and Admin (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   Edit Links (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f19/edit-links-6995.html)

Idriel 08-23-2005 11:29 AM

Edit Links
 
I would be grateful if someone explain me how to change the name of a internet link.
For example if I want to post a link to www.google.com but I want it to appear as Google, how do I do?
Thanks

tbhrc 08-23-2005 01:59 PM

Whwn you go to the Post Reply area, you will find a button that looks like the earth.

First you write Google, than mark it click that button and copy that link. Then you will see this Google

I hope you understand what I mean.:o

Idriel 08-23-2005 02:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbhrc
Whwn you go to the Post Reply area, you will find a button that looks like the earth.

First you write Google, than mark it click that button and copy that link. Then you will see this Google

I hope you understand what I mean.:o

Tbrhc, click here.

tbhrc 08-23-2005 02:51 PM

Hahaha, that's great. You're welcome!!! :)

Pink Tulip 12-27-2005 01:27 AM

I am trying to do the same thing but I don't really understand what to do.:o Sorry, I am a bit slow today.

Toledo 12-27-2005 01:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Idriel

Idriel, who is that beautiful lady with the red background on your avatar? Is that a famous painting. I can't keep away from her eyes.

Danielle 12-27-2005 01:48 AM

I find the easiest way is to do this:

Type in: [url=www.typewebsiteurlhere ] How you want it to appear [/ url] but without the space in between this [/ url].

So, with the google example:
[url=www.google.com]Google[/ url] (make sure you remove the space). It should come out as Google. Also, you don't have to leave it bolded. I only did that for emphasis.

Hope this helps!

Pink Tulip 12-27-2005 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danielle
I find the easiest way is to do this:

Type in: [url=www.typewebsiteurlhere ] How you want it to appear [/ url] but without the space in between this [/ url].

So, with the google example:
[url=www.google.com]Google[/ url] (make sure you remove the space). It should come out as Google. Also, you don't have to leave it bolded. I only did that for emphasis.

Hope this helps!

It worked! Thankyou very much Danielle.:)

Elspeth 12-27-2005 01:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pink Tulip
I am trying to do the same thing but I don't really understand what to do.:o Sorry, I am a bit slow today.

Say you want to post a link to the Directory of Royal Genealogical Data, but you don't want to use the URL itself because it isn't obvious what it refers to (http://www3.dcs.hull.ac.uk/public/genealogy/royal/), you do the following.

You type your message, including whatever words you want to represent the link. For example, you could write, "Click here to see a useful reference on royal genealogy."

Then you highlight "here" and click on the icon above the message box that looks like the globe (it's the one that says "insert link" when you put your mouse over it).

That will bring up a new small window labelled "Hyperlink." The first box shows the type of hyperlink, and the default is http, so you don't need to worry about that. The box under it is labelled URL, and in that box you type your http://www3.dcs.hull.ac.uk/public/genealogy/royal/. It already has "http" in the box, so if your URL also has http (rather than starting with www or whatever), you should delete the http in the box before pasting your link.

Then click OK, and the "here" that you highlighted in your message will turn into a clickable link, like this: "Click here to see a useful reference on royal genealogy."

If you want to have a practice in this thread, go ahead. We can always delete any failed attempts! The first time I tried it on another board (several years ago!), I brought the thread to a grinding halt with something like six failed attempts!

If you want to do it "longhand," the code is [ url=http://www3.dcs.hull.ac.uk/public/genealogy/royal/ ]here[ /url ] without the spaces next to the brackets. That ends up looking like this: "Click here to see a useful reference on royal genealogy."

Edited to add: I see Danielle explained the longhand version before I got there!

Regina 12-28-2005 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danielle
I find the easiest way is to do this:

Type in: [url=www.typewebsiteurlhere ] How you want it to appear [/ url] but without the space in between this [/ url].

So, with the google example:
[url=www.google.com]Google[/ url] (make sure you remove the space). It should come out as Google. Also, you don't have to leave it bolded. I only did that for emphasis.

Hope this helps!

Thanks Danielle!!

Pink Tulip 12-29-2005 09:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Elspeth
Edited to add: I see Danielle explained the longhand version before I got there!

But thankyou for your detailed explanation Elspeth!;)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014
Jelsoft Enterprises