The Royal Forums

The Royal Forums (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/)
-   Forum Announcements and Admin (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f19/)
-   -   Lost Posts due to Log-outs (http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f19/lost-posts-due-to-log-outs-12104.html)

Suonymona 03-02-2007 05:04 AM

Lost Posts due to Log-outs
 
This specifically has happened to me three times this morning!

1) I go to quick post at the bottom. I've finished my masterpiece and hit the button. Instead of seeing the page refreshed with my post, I'm redirected to log back in.
I enter my information and log in. I'm then redirected to a bulletin which says this forum is not accepting new posts.
I go back to the thread via my browser's back button and my post is also gone. No way of finding what I wrote--its gone.

2) I go to a different thread.
Again, I try to quick post at the bottom of the page, again I'm directed to log in, again my post is gone.
So its the quick post right?

3) Once more I try again. A third thread in a different forum (member's corner if memory serves correct).
I refresh the page and try to post again by hitting the reply button. I write in the editor and hit post.
AGAIN I get sent back to re-login. AGAIN my writing is not posted and is lost.

I shouldn't have to copy everything I write in case it gets eaten!

Does anyone know why I keep getting bounced out?

Is it the timing
? I'm usually on here between 1 am and 6 am EST (USA).

Is it the computer set-up? I'm using a top Mac laptop with the latest version of Firefox.

Is it vBulletin?
I only read one other board that uses this software. I checked it. No problem doing a test post.
They don't allow quickposts, even for members.--is that it?

Help me ObiWan--call Andy
!

Edit: I copied this before I tried to post. Guess what? I got redirected to log in and had to do it again. This time it took and posted.

dazzling 03-02-2007 10:03 AM

Thats happened to me when i log in where it say's sign in on theleft hand side of the front page but when i log in from the sign in on the upper right side of the page its fine

Elspeth 03-02-2007 12:39 PM

Has this been happening consistently for a while or is it a new problem? I know we've had complaints about it before, but it was a while ago. Although someone did PM me yesterday about having access problems, so maybe this is more widespread.

Dennism 03-02-2007 04:13 PM

Yeah, I still have this problem though not with quick post. I normally have to open up a new page and log in again. I even click "Remember Me" and I still have to log in again. :ermm:

Elspeth 03-02-2007 04:35 PM

Sounds like one for Andy, then. Thanks for the update, Dennis.

RhapsodyBrat 03-03-2007 02:38 AM

i'm trying to post this through the Post Quick Reply option, and so far no problems for me. good thing i always go "CTRL+A - CTRL+C" when posting. ;)

crisiñaki 03-04-2007 01:15 AM

I enter the forum at all hours and I haven't had that problem:ermm:

Suonymona 03-04-2007 04:47 AM

Is anyone else using Firefox? There was a major update about three weeks ago and I had some weird password and extension issues then. Those disappeared after a patch but this hasn't.

It could be two things not working nicely together---perfect for Royalty! :rofl:

Lady Jennifer 03-04-2007 10:46 AM

I use firefox but I haven't had that problem at all Suonymona.

ysbel 03-04-2007 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suonymona
Is anyone else using Firefox? There was a major update about three weeks ago and I had some weird password and extension issues then. Those disappeared after a patch but this hasn't.

It could be two things not working nicely together---perfect for Royalty! :rofl:

Hello Ann. It may be a case of the new version of Firefox not keeping your cookies from The Royal Forums. When I upgraded to the newest version of IE, I had the same problems but they disappeared when I added theroyalforums as a trusted site.

Suonymona 03-05-2007 05:15 AM

Great idea. Thanks!

I'll give it a shot.

ysbel 03-05-2007 06:59 AM

You're welcome Ann. If that doesn't work, you may also want to check your ActiveX controls and make sure your settings are checked to automatically run ActiveX controls and plug-ins. My browser also has checked to script ActiveX controls that are authorized for scripting.

This may make a difference.

Suonymona 03-05-2007 07:38 AM

That was it!

I have a script blocker (NOScript--a Firefox extension) that is default set-up to block all plug-ins and java or flash scripts. I have to enable it (temporarily or permanently--which can be reversed for errors) for each site that feeds into a page. Some pages can have dozens of sites with separate scripts due to ads and photos.

I now login and enable the site (as well as clicking Remember Me) and so far *knock wood* have not been logged out.


THANK YOU!!!!

dazzling 03-06-2007 01:40 PM

this is what i am facing now.
when i use quick post it posts but when i want to do something new than it log's me out.
when i close & restart the browser, i have tos ign in again though i have "remember me". Ive been facing this problem starting a few hours ago.

ysbel 03-07-2007 02:08 AM

4 Attachment(s)
Hi dazzling you may need to check your browser's ActiveX settings.

These are screenshots of my ActiveX settings in Internet Explorer for Windows. If you have IE you should be able to copy my settings.

For other browsers, you may have to switch the settings a bit differently.

In IE I access them from Internet Options - Security - Custom level.

dazzling 03-07-2007 11:01 AM

thanks ysbel, but im still facing the same problem

Lady Jennifer 03-07-2007 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dazzling
thanks ysbel, but im still facing the same problem

Have you tried using a different web browser?

dazzling 03-08-2007 06:38 AM

after i rested the security settings and im not facing the same problem anymore. thanks for your help

Suonymona 03-09-2007 04:44 AM

dazzling

Firefox is free for any platform (PC/Windows, Apple/Mac, Anything/Linux).

Safari is Apple-specific. Internet Explorer is mostly PC-centric. It is available for Macs but is rather buggy. Mosaic was one of the original browsers but is mostly coded for Linux users now.

Warren 05-24-2007 01:47 AM

The 'Remember me' box
 
It is important to tick the 'remember me' box when logging in to the Forums.

'Remember me' sets the cookies in the computer which identify it to the TRF server, thereby authorising access to the site. This allows you to continue to be attached to the site whenever anything changes while you are logged in.

This is especially important for AOL users. AOL utilises a constantly-switching IP method of internet connection and navigation, and as soon as an IP switch occurs the website's server detects a changed connection. With cookies set the server knows who you are and carries on as if nothing has happened. Without the cookies set (that is, no 'remember me' ticked), the server is unable to identify you. At the next mouse click the login screen appears because the server needs to re-establish authorisation.

This situation is common to many websites requiring a login ID and password, and is not TRF-related.

To avoid repeated log-in screens, it is recommended that 'remember me' is ticked.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014
Jelsoft Enterprises