Anna Anderson's claim to be Grand Duchess Anastasia

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Anna Anderson

I was reading borisRom post with regard to Anna Anderson as above and note that final paragraph.

While I am no expert I note the DNA results that have been published.

With the assistance of mtDNA via HRH Prince Philip my understanding is that it has been confirmed that Empress Alexandra and three daughters were found in the first mass grave outside Ekaterinburg. There was some argument on who the fourth daughter was and that at that time was missing. Russia stated Maria and America stated Anastasia.

We then move on to the discovery of the 2nd grave and again with the assistance of mtDNA we are informed that in this grave lay the remains of Alexis and the fourth daughter, ether Maria or Anastasia.

Therefore by DNA all four daughters have been accounted for and that sadly no one got out of the Ipatiev House alive that night.

Moving on, with the assistance of the mtDNA samples of Anna Anderson were sent for testing and the result showed that Anna Anderson could not be related to the maternal line of the Empress Alexandra as there was no mtDNA match. Further, tests confirmed that there was a mtDNA match with the member of the familly of Franziska Schanzkowskathat some had argued Anna Anderson had belonged to for many years.

Over the years that I have watched the Anna Anderson case, some 40 odd by now, I always kept an open mind on this topic as there was a great deal of information that stood her argument and suggested that she might had been Anastasia. However the DNA evidence we have now is compelling which is why I assume the Russian Government acepted the results and allowed the burial in St Petersburg of the first remains found. Had they had doubts I do not think they would have allowed this to take place.