Caroline & The Casiraghi's - University Life

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Ah thanks, I see now. You have a point there. Indeed, people I know from B/L were all revising during Easter vacations and wouldn't have time to make a nice little trip to Monaco. :)

As you've been so kind to explain us the French schooling system in detail (I knew more or less how it worked, but not the details...) what's the difference between an A/L and a B/L?
Thanks again,

Kisses

Ok, my English is not that good but I’ll try to explain. I’m not an expert, so anybody can correct me if I’m wrong. (I just know a few things about it because I have two French friends, who are in prépas and I once made a paper about the French schooling system (I study French at university) and read a lot about it on the internet). So (hypo)khâgne is the general term. Then you have two options, A/L and B/L. The difference between the two is that in B/L you have maths and social studies while in A/L you have instead geography, more languages with in the most lycées obligatory Latin or Greek and philosophy and literature are considered more important. So A/L is the ‘real literary’ section and B/L is more ‘multi-disciplinary’ and general. With B/L you can also participate in the concours of HEC, ESSEC, Sciences-Po, etc., which are commercial and political schools. But there are not much lycées who offer the option B/L and I just went checking on the website of Fénelon and they don’t offer it. So Charlotte is certainly in A/L and her concours starts 17 may. I’m sorry to have caused confusion in this topic but in the mean time you all learnt something about la douce France and that can’t be bad (ok, I’m sorry, I adore France and French a bit too much :eek: ).

Thanks a lot! I really appreciated your explanation.