The Duchess of Cambridge's Eveningwear Part 7: April 2016 - February 2017

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Was the weather unexpectedly chilly? This almost seems like she didn't expect to need to wear a coat and just grabbed one last minute

Yes the temperatures have been very chilly in the evenings in the last few days. I think your explanation is probably the most likely scenario. The Queen and Camilla seem to have solved this dilemma more successfully. Incidentally the Queen's outfit is described as "sea green" , so the red, white and blue theory , although a nice idea, doesn't hold.

Sent from my iPad using The Royals Community mobile app

The lady sitting between Charles and Andrew is wearing red.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cij13h3WwAAgMJh.jpg

I'm not a fashion expert, but looking at the front row, Camilla and The Queen stand out just as much as Catherine. Only the Landgrave's wife is wearing black. I think they all look lovely.

Last edited:
The lady sitting between Charles and Andrew is wearing red.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cij13h3WwAAgMJh.jpg

I'm not a fashion expert, but looking at the front row, Camilla and The Queen stand out just as much as Catherine. Only the Langrave's wife is wearing black. I think they all look lovely.

I suppose it's possible that it's a colour-perception thing, but to me, and, I think, to the majority of people, that vibrant red Kate's wearing is an attention-seeking colour that screams "Look At Me, I'm powerful and important and/or hoping to turn you on", whereas the white of Camilla's dress and turquoise of HM's never could.

Last edited:
I don't know about the 'majority of people'. It's the usual people.

The lady next to Charles is wearing red, and for me the white of Camilla's dress stands out against the black more the Catherine's red.