The Monarchy under Charles

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
By my knowledge there is no Constitution in the United Kingdom.

What an extraordinary statement. If the UK has no constitution then I'm not sure what I studied during my constitutional law classes at university.

The British constitution certainly does exist. It is made up of a range of acts of Parliament, the common law and, of particular importance in this context, conventions. It is the settled convention in the UK that the monarch does not make political statements. Another is the deferment of the royal prerogatives of the monarch to ministers.

The moment British monarchs start to make overt political statements, of the like given just the other day by the Belgian king, is the day they sign their death warrant. However important Charles may think his opinions are and however much the public may agree with his opinions (there's plenty of disagreement in the country with what he says), he's going to have to learn to keep them to himself.

I think what Duc was implying is that there is no written constitution setting out the role of the monarch and the limits of what they can and cannot do etc etc as there is in the Netherlands.

Charles has always been outspoken on a number of different issues, we know that and are used to it. If and how that changes once he becomes king is a different story.

The matter is often discussed in the following thread:

http://www.theroyalforums.com/forums/f44/prince-charles-being-political-11549.html

Oh, I know there's no written constitution in the UK. But that does not mean, it doesn't even come close to meaning, that it does not exist.