The Royal Forums Coat of Arms

Join The Royal Forums Today

Old 04-17-2017, 02:05 AM
Majesty

Location: On the west side of North up from Back, United States
Thanks for the heads up Duc and I'm definitely going to keep an eye out for it if it is ever shown here in the States. I'm just learning and I do find the subject fascinating with all the ins and outs and how it all works.

For the most part, royal princes are created royal dukes as they reach their majority (or in the case now, marry). There is a big difference between a royal duke and a noble duke when it comes to precedence. Precedence is really where the rank and file come in. As I said, as far as princes go, now in the UK its only Prince Michael of Kent (his brother Edward inherited the peerage)who is not an hereditary peer and the case of Edward who is the Earl of Wessex and eventually will be created The Duke of Edinburgh - also a hereditary peerage. For the most part now, hereditary peerages are few and far between.

It is most reasonable to assume that if and when Harry marries, he will be created a duke at that time.

Old 04-17-2017, 07:11 AM
Heir Presumptive

Yes of course he will.. no question.. problaby Duke of Sussex. And yes a royal duke is not the same as a "noble" Duke. He does not have a seat in the Lords.. it is a mark of honour given on arrival at years of maturity usually when a prince marries.

Old 04-17-2017, 07:40 AM
Commoner

I just typed a long reply but it disappeared when my train company ended its 15 minutes of free WiFi!

Long story short, no it's not the same thing taking a husband's surname as taking his first name too. A family all having the same surname makes sense, whether the husband's the wife's or a combination of both. Taking his first name too means you just become an extension of him, you no longer have your own identity. My husband agrees and hates it when his older relatives call me Mrs Mark Oursurame. If you like it, you are welcome to it, but I hate it.