Order of the Garter, Ceremonies and Information 1: 2003 - 2021

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, I'm no garter expert but I'll take a stab at this question because I know for sure that the extra knights companion and ladies of the order, which are other countries' royals, do not always attend. For example, Emperor Akihito of Japan is an extra knight companion and I don't recall him attending recently. Feel free to chime in if you know differently.

None of the stranger nights came last year. I think the last time any of them attended was for the Golden Jubilee (and I don't believe Emperor Akihito was there for that).

To answer a question further up, the British royal website states that there are only 24 regular companions, and I counted 24 in the list, so I doubt we'll see anybody new this year, royal or not.

We won't. That would have been announced in April.

Thanks to everyone who tried to answer my question as best as possible. I do hope William shows up or else I have this feeling the press will somehow manage to turn it against him.

It's already on the official diary on the Prince of Wales site, William is attending the Garter ceremony this year.
Thanks, I have no idea why I didn't check the site beforehand. Don't mean to turn this into a Wills/Kate thread but I wonder if Kate will attend.

Thanks to everyone who tried to answer my question as best as possible. I do hope William shows up or else I have this feeling the press will somehow manage to turn it against him.

It's already on the official diary on the Prince of Wales site, William is attending the Garter ceremony this year.

Members of the Order for the 15th June Service.

Sovereign of the Order

HM The Queen

Ladies of the Order

HRH Princess Ann, The Prince Royal
HRH Princess Alexandra, The Honourable Lady Ogilvy

Royal Knights Companion

HRH Prince Philip, The Duke of Edinburgh
HRH Prince Charles, The Prince of Wales