The Hungarian Palatinate branch of the Habsburgs

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dalps09

Gentry
City
Country
Canada
I decided to start a thread about the Hungarian Habsburgs because I couldn't find any informations on other threads (if I'm wrong feel free to delete) about these unknown archdukes/archduchess of Austria. They were the Palatines of Hungary until 1918, I'm not an expert in titles, but I think it was similar to the job of a regent or a viceroy. (A better definition would be welcomed)

They were five Palatines of Hungary starting with Leopold II, Holy Roman Emperor's two sons : Alexander Leopold and Joseph (his brother), followed by Stephan (his son by second wife Hermine of Anhalt-Bernburg-Schaumburg-Hoym -- what a name!), Joseph Karl (his half-brother by Maria Dorothea of Wurttemberg) and Joseph August (his son by Clothilde of Saxe-Coburg-Kohary).

The latter married a Bavarian princess, Auguste, (BTW Franz Joseph and Sissi's granddaughter) with whom he had many children. I think their only child who had issue was Joseph Franz (yeah, another Joseph) who married Anna Monika, a daughter of the last King of Saxony.

And here we are with today's branch of the Habsburgs. The head of the house today is Joseph Franz's son ... Joseph Arpad. He married princess Maria of Lowenstein-Wertheim-Rosenberg. And Maria's sister (don't remember her name -- Christina ??) is married to her husband's youngest brother (don't remember his name either).

Joseph Franz had many children of whom, Géza who's (or was) working for Fabergé. He has a site : Dr. Geza von Habsburg Homepage

If anyone has information (do they attend events or such things) or pictures about them, you can post this here.

I´ve just sent you a long interview in Spanish with Archduchess Monika (née Lowenstein-Wertheim) published last April.
I don´t post the link here as it does not work anymore but fortunately I saved the text.
I hope you enjoy it!