Jewels of the British Nobility 1: Ending Aug. 2023

If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry but I'm still learning - who owns this? I need to know cos obviouslt I want to buy it :)

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm just imagining that superb Portland tiara encircling my head and wearing the other sapphire jewels from that suite. That gorgeous ruby and diamond ring wouldn't go amiss, either, I'm certainly willing to mix different color stones. ;)

2005 Wedding of Hugh van Cutsem & Lady Rose Astor

The Tiara
source: post #25 Van Cutsem-Astor wedding thread
"Two sprays of mixed flowers, entirely pavéd with diamonds, meet at the large, open wild rose in the center. The sprays can also be worn as brooches. The diamonds, set in flowers, are recorded in the Heathcote inventory of 1786 and have descended in the same family since..."

The tiara is named as being the property of Baroness Nancy Willoughby de Eresby, 28th Baroness Willoughby de Eresby, who apparently was one of the train bearers for Queen Elizabeth at her coronation in 1953.

The mother of the present owner of the tiara (the Baroness) and the grandfather of the bride were siblings, both children of Waldorf Astor, 2nd Viscount Astor.

v Lady Rose Astor & Hugh Van Cutsem
Image cropped from larger pohotograph and constitutes less than 20% of the original.
> the diamond tiara

Attachments

• Heathcote Tiara (Lady Rose Astor 2005).jpg
    Heathcote Tiara (Lady Rose Astor 2005).jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 3,487
  • Heathcote (Astor) floral tiara.jpg
    Heathcote (Astor) floral tiara.jpg
    34.7 KB · Views: 864
:previous:
WAY too tall proportionately, IMHO.

A serious tiara...

Wedding of Lady Melissa Percy, daughter of the 12th Duke of Northumberland, to Thomas van Straubenzee, June 2013

v Lady Melissa Percy, Northumberland diamond tiara, June 2013
Thumbnail images have been cropped from larger photographs.

Attachments