The Royal Forums Coat of Arms


Join The Royal Forums Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 07-25-2008, 04:24 AM
Menarue's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Posts: 2,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdc1 View Post
It's been happening at least two or three times a day for the past two weeks that I've been logged on (not counting when I was away for weeks at a time on vacation).

I'll click on something (New Posts, Next Page, etc.), and this message will pop up:

This forum requires that you wait 10 seconds between searches. Please try again in 37 seconds.
Well, I feel like I've taken longer than 10 seconds, but maybe my timing is off. Does anyone else have this problem?
I have been having the same problem, I log on and go to today´s posts or any other option and the 10 seconds wait message appears. After much longer than 10 seconds wait I try again and get the same message. This has only happened in the last two days but is very annoying... Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-25-2008, 08:14 AM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
It might be happening because of the software upgrade. I'll let the tech team know it's still going on.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-26-2008, 05:28 PM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
Is this still happening to anyone? The tech guy is drawing a blank on being able to figure out what's going on. If it's still happening after you clear your browser cache and delete your browsing history, please let us know.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-28-2008, 07:28 PM
Aurora810's Avatar
Serene Highness
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, United States
Posts: 1,052
I apologize if I shouldn't post about the particular problem I have been having here. I was looking around on where to post the issue and decided on here.

Since this past Friday when I type in the web address to come to TRF's. It goes to a blank page. Well actually it says "im here" in the top left corner of the plain white page but the page never opens up. I thought all weekend long something must be wrong with TRF's so I kept trying occassionally but then today I got the idea to check and see if the web address had changed. So I entered "The Royal Forums" into a search engine and a link for a few different families came up, I clicked on the link and here I am. I was finally able to get to TRF's after days of not being able to get here. I'm wondering what is going on. I can't see any reason why I'm having this sudden issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-28-2008, 07:50 PM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
You're probably seeing a cached page from the time the forum was down for the upgrade. If you clear your browser cache, and also maybe delete your bookmark and then save it again when everything's working OK, that should help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-29-2008, 07:15 PM
Aurora810's Avatar
Serene Highness
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, United States
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elspeth View Post
You're probably seeing a cached page from the time the forum was down for the upgrade. If you clear your browser cache, and also maybe delete your bookmark and then save it again when everything's working OK, that should help.


Thanks so much! I will try what you suggested!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-31-2008, 07:35 AM
Menarue's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Posts: 2,155
I am still getting the annoying 10 seconds wait when I first log on, this only happens with the Quick Links that haven´t been that quick lately. Is it correct to log on, go to the quick links and immediately be told to wait 10 seconds? If it is, then I will avoid it and go to today´s posts. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-31-2008, 11:48 AM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
It seems as though there's a problem which the tech people are having a bit of trouble tracking down, so for the moment if you can avoid the parts of the forum that are asking you to wait, it would probably be easiest. I'll remind them about it again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-31-2008, 11:52 AM
Menarue's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Posts: 2,155
Thanks Elspeth, it is driving me crazy......
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-31-2008, 06:16 PM
Skydragon's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London and Highlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,943
My problem seems to be that when someone goes back and alters their post, it is not showing that they did so. If I edit a post, it doesn't immediately show and it is only when I go back into edit (where it does show) and save it again that it appears on the thread.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07-31-2008, 07:11 PM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
Edits don't show in the "Edited by..." line if you edit a post immediately after you post it. Is this what might be happening, or are edits not showing even if you wait a while before making them?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-07-2008, 01:20 PM
Menarue's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Posts: 2,155
Elspeth the Quick Links are still driving me up the wall. I found them so useful, but now they are so so slow, am I the only complaining? Sorry if I am, but as I said it is driving me crazeeeee.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:55 PM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
I'm not sure what to tell you - I've just tested the Quick Links by logging in with a spare account that we use to test things like this, and it wasn't making me wait. Have you done all the usual things like clearing your browser cache and your cookies?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:54 AM
Menarue's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Posts: 2,155
Thanks Elspeth, I will try that. It might do the trick, I haven´t done this for a "while"...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:23 PM
principessa's Avatar
Heir Presumptive
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Schweinfurt, Germany
Posts: 2,657
Posting letters or cards of royals

Hi, I have a question refering posting letters or cards. Are they copyright and it's not allowed to scan and post them? Or are they free, so that we can post a scan here?

Thank you for your help.

principessa
__________________
I had a dream: Let's connect our thoughts together, than we have a mission, let's connect our feelings together, than we have a mood, let's connect our dreams together, than we have a vision and let's connect our mission, our mood and our vision together than we have a perfect life.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:15 PM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
The copyright might vary from country to country. But in the USA, copyright would belong to the sender, as far as I can tell.

I don't think the copyright owner would be as protective as a photo agency or photographer with income to protect, but if you were sent a card or letter by a royal, it's probably best to ask for permission before posting a scan here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:32 AM
RhapsodyBrat's Avatar
Serene Highness
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cavite City, Philippines
Posts: 1,399
Post/message lengths

Hi mods and admins! I have two questions:

1. How many lines can our signatures accomodate now? I remember the previous limit was four lines, but looking at my new siggy I think it's been increased.

2. I use Mozilla Firefox and I got a message saying I need at least 10 characters in a post while using the Quick Reply box. My original post (in the Food Game thread) was "Pecans, Q" and got a pop-up saying my message was too short and that posts should be at least 10 characters. I have never encountered this with IE. Is it just Firefox, or is it with VBulletin?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-11-2008, 02:00 AM
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ***, United States
Posts: 16,897
1. It's still four lines, but PoM reps get an extra line or two if they want to advertise the PoM poll. And members of the mod/admin teams get an extra few lines if they want to post links to the rules and the PoM and the newsletter and so on as well as having a regular signature.

2. As far as I know, that's just the way it's set up for this forum. It happens in IE too. It's to stop people making posts that are just "LOL" or "yes" or a couple of smilies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:09 AM
RhapsodyBrat's Avatar
Serene Highness
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cavite City, Philippines
Posts: 1,399
Thanks Elspeth for clearing that up! Will keep them in mind.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:35 PM
tan_berry's Avatar
Aristocracy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Posts: 250
Why the new posts dissappear? When I came in today there was 7 x 25 options and suddenly all dissappears and only 2 or 4 or 6 options are left, the most possibly boring.

What seems to be the problem?

Is it racism?
__________________

__________________
We men build too many walls and not enough bridges. Sir Isaac Newton
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
getting logged off


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture posting questions, issues and tutorials Elspeth Forum Announcements and Admin 102 05-16-2014 10:41 AM
General Royal Genealogical questions Warren Royal Genealogy 13 07-14-2013 08:45 AM
Questions about TRF? Find the answers here! Warren Forum Announcements and Admin 7 01-19-2013 04:24 PM




Additional Links
Popular Tags
abdication birth charlene crown prince frederik crown prince haakon crown princess letizia crown princess mary crown princess mette-marit crown princess victoria dutch royal history engagement fashion grand duchess maria teresa grand duke henri infanta leonor infanta sofia jewellery jordan king abdullah ii king carl xvi gustav king felipe king felipe vi king harald king juan carlos king philippe king willem-alexander luxembourg olympic games ottoman pom pregnancy president hollande president komorowski prince albert prince albert ii prince carl philip prince constantijn prince felipe prince floris prince pieter-christiaan princess aimee princess anita princess astrid princess beatrix princess charlene princess laurentien princess mabel princess madeleine princess margriet princess marilene princess mary queen anne-marie queen letizia queen mathilde queen maxima queen paola queen rania queen silvia queen sofia royal royal fashion russia sofia hellqvist spain state visit sweden the hague visit wedding winter olympics 2014



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Social Knowledge Networks

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014
Jelsoft Enterprises

Royal News Delivered to your Email!

You can get the latest Royal News right in your inbox.

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]