The Royal Forums Coat of Arms


Join The Royal Forums Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-05-2017, 06:17 PM
Iluvbertie's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 11,822
Error Message

Over the last 24 hours every time I click on a page anywhere in the Forum I get a 'threat detected' and 'a threat has been blocked and quarantined' message.

In this past 24 hour period I have had over 100 items quarantined and only from this site.

This is particularly happening when the page has a video linked to it but while typing this message I have received 7 of them.

The IT people at work looked at it for me (as it happened yesterday when I was at work and I was worried) and they said it is something in this site and not already on my computer.

We use the Sophos anti-virus system.

No other site I ever go to gives me that message.

Mods and Admins - you may need to look into this as it is a worry if this site is infecting our computers. I can't give any more information as Sophos only tells me that the 'threat' has been 'detected, blocked and quarantined' and when I click on the Sophos quarantine it says 'generic PUA virus detected' and then gives me the option to clean them up. I have 12 to clean up now from this message alone - note it was 7 earlier in the message but now it is 12.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2017, 08:33 PM
JessRulz's Avatar
Administrator
Blog Editor
Royal Blogger
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,854
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Iluvbertie. I have notified our tech team of the issue and they will investigate to see what is causing the problem.
__________________

__________________
**TRF Rules and FAQ**
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2017, 09:21 PM
Janet H's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eastern, United States
Posts: 1,059
Thanks for the report. We don"t see anything amiss but PUA (and PUPs) can come from Ads. Ads are displayed based on your own browsing history so you might have picked up some unwanted adware.

You could run a scan with Malwarebytes (free download) to double check or trust your current security scheme. It could also be a false positive. If there were real files being blocked, they'd be in quarantine. Can you check? If you find something there let us know what the file names are so we can look further.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2017, 09:43 PM
Iluvbertie's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 11,822
All the adds that pop up here also pop up on other sites but this is the only place where I am getting this message.

They are going into quarantine with the message I told you.

I have been advised by the IT staff at school that it is in this site and as you can't fix it I will have no option but to leave the site. We tested this on a number of different computers - my home computer at home, five different computers at school using different service providers and even a computer in a friend's home - the only time the message came was when I logged onto this site - no other site just this one.

Sorry - but that is the way it is.

I can't take the risk of infecting my works computers (all 400+ not to mention the over 1200 students devices that log onto the schools' system).

If I was getting the message on any other sites I would have told you but it is only on this one.

Sorry - but it is goodbye from me due to the dangers of a virus from this site.

I have enjoyed my time here but security must take precedence.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2017, 10:35 AM
Osipi's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On the west side of North up from Back, United States
Posts: 12,121
This may be off base but thought I'd throw a few pennies in the pot.

Perhaps what happened is that the browser being used was updated and for some reason the ad blockers didn't pass muster. I've had that happen where after a update, I had to physically reconfigure my ad blocker in my browser.

I have had no trouble with ads since then.
__________________
No law can be sacred to me but that of my nature. Good and bad are but names very readily transferable to that or this; the only right is what is after my constitution, the only wrong what is against it.

~~~Ralph Waldo Emerson~~~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2017, 01:14 AM
Royal Highness
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Omaha, United States
Posts: 1,855
That is unusual because I use Firefox with it's own ad blockers and Avira anti-virus and haven't had any problems with Royal Forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:24 PM
Courtier
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: St Thomas, U.S. Minor Outlying Islands
Posts: 927
Has anybody else's anti-virus detected adware or viruses?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:45 PM
Muhler's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Eastern Jutland, Denmark
Posts: 11,379

No, and my security settings are set "paranoid", so threats ought to have been detected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:16 PM
Iluvbertie's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 11,822
Well we have worked out what is happening.

Through one of my 'social media accounts' - including this one - a hacker (no idea who or what) is using this site to gain access to my computer. Could be a student from the school or someone from the other side of the world.

This is increasingly a common way hackers are attacking computers to gain access to your personal information.

Just because you aren't getting a 'warning' doesn't mean you aren't being attacked according to the guys who have spent much of the last four days with my computers at home and at work trying to backdoor the problem and after working with the people at Sophos have said that this site isn't the actual problem but that outsiders are using this site - and millions of others - as ways into our computers.

So I can now post again - hurrah - and I really must thank the IT guys at work for the fantastic job they did in tracking this down for me. They have also learnt a lot about the royals from their many visits here to see if what they had tried worked. Eventually it did - we know what is causing it - I will continue to get the message but no concerns as Sophos is blocking everything from getting through.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:46 PM
Osipi's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On the west side of North up from Back, United States
Posts: 12,121
Whew!! I'm glad you have the problem worked out and are back among us. TRF just wouldn't be the same without you.
__________________
No law can be sacred to me but that of my nature. Good and bad are but names very readily transferable to that or this; the only right is what is after my constitution, the only wrong what is against it.

~~~Ralph Waldo Emerson~~~
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:59 PM
Nobility
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Alexandria, United States
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osipi View Post
Whew!! I'm glad you have the problem worked out and are back among us. TRF just wouldn't be the same without you.
Exactly, I'm happy you're back too.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-2017, 02:21 PM
Commoner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Miami Florida, United States
Posts: 22
Glad all is safe! Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2017, 10:35 PM
Lady Nimue's Avatar
Heir Apparent
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pacific Palisades CA, United States
Posts: 4,422
An FYI - I have for the second time today a message that pops up while on this site telling me I have a virus. It seems to pop up while I am giving an instruction, such as hitting 'post' to post a message to a thread. It happened twice today, and it has happened once before, within the last week or two.

I have never seen this alert at any other time except when on this site. I have also had my screen freeze today, and had to do a re-boot on this site.

Does this sound like a familiar problem? Something going on with the site? It's telling me the site is infested. (I have an Apple product).
__________________
Russian National Anthem: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGoNaLjQrV8
O Magnum Mysterium: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWU7dyey6yo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2017, 11:20 PM
Courtier
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: jersey shore, United States
Posts: 902
Also have apple.....past few days Iíve been in middle of posting and get logged off. Also getting lots of apple pop ups which I have blocked in settings. Tonight Iíve been on/off probably 5 times.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-13-2017, 05:09 AM
Osipi's Avatar
Imperial Majesty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On the west side of North up from Back, United States
Posts: 12,121
No problems here using Windows 10 and Opera with an ad blocker.
__________________
No law can be sacred to me but that of my nature. Good and bad are but names very readily transferable to that or this; the only right is what is after my constitution, the only wrong what is against it.

~~~Ralph Waldo Emerson~~~
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-13-2017, 11:34 PM
Lady Nimue's Avatar
Heir Apparent
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pacific Palisades CA, United States
Posts: 4,422
I thought a moderator would come on to explain......
__________________
Russian National Anthem: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGoNaLjQrV8
O Magnum Mysterium: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWU7dyey6yo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-14-2017, 03:52 AM
iceflower's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , Germany
Posts: 43,397


It's rather a question for our Tech Admins, hopefully one will have an answer for you!
__________________
**** Welcome aboard! ****
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-14-2017, 10:35 AM
Janet H's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eastern, United States
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady Nimue View Post
An FYI - I have for the second time today a message that pops up while on this site telling me I have a virus. It seems to pop up while I am giving an instruction, such as hitting 'post' to post a message to a thread. It happened twice today, and it has happened once before, within the last week or two.

I have never seen this alert at any other time except when on this site. I have also had my screen freeze today, and had to do a re-boot on this site.

Does this sound like a familiar problem? Something going on with the site? It's telling me the site is infested. (I have an Apple product).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missjersey View Post
Also have apple.....past few days Iíve been in middle of posting and get logged off. Also getting lots of apple pop ups which I have blocked in settings. Tonight Iíve been on/off probably 5 times.

Can you try restarting your computer please and see if that helps? If this persists please either take a screen shot of the message or post the contents so we can investigate. This sounds like an ad that is masquerading as a system notice to me...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-14-2017, 10:39 AM
Courtier
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: jersey shore, United States
Posts: 902
Will do Janet H but it my phone. Apple 7
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-14-2017, 11:43 AM
Janet H's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eastern, United States
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missjersey View Post
Will do Janet H but it my phone. Apple 7
If it's a phone, then it's definitely a bad ad. Not malware but very annoying. Make sure you have the latest version of the mobile app and then cycle your phone off and then on.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTTP 500 Error acdc1 Forum Announcements and Admin 5 04-17-2008 12:03 PM
My first post - an error report OmniRex Forum Announcements and Admin 0 06-14-2006 06:57 AM




Popular Tags
"chinese gordon" australia baltic republics bonaparte british royal family camilla charles china christian ix clothes current events dailyfail danish royal family de belgique duchess of cornwall duchess of sussex duchess of york duke of sussex duke of york fashion felipe and letizia germany grandchild harry and meghan her children interesting facts introduction jacobite juan carlos king king felipe king felipe vi king willem-alexander meghan markle modernization northampton osborn piromallo plantagenets porphyria prince prince charles prince daniel prince harry prince harry of wales prince nicholas princess beatrice princess eugenie princess louise princess of belgium prince william public opinion royal royal ancestry royal ancestry; oscar and sophia royal family royal geneology royal wedding sarah ferguson spain state visit sweden the crown titles uk styles tom bower waldeck wedding wedding of prince harry windsor castle working visit



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 AM.

Social Knowledge Networks

eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018
Jelsoft Enterprises